When the Other Driver Doesn’t Have Enough Insurance.
South Dakota law requires that every vehicle has liability insurance. However, there are many vehicles that have the minimum amount of liability insurance, which, in South Dakota, is $25,000.
South Dakota law makes it a crime to drive while under the influence of alcohol. Unfortunately, people who break the law by driving drunk sometimes also break the law by not having insurance. And if you have ever had the misfortune of being injured by an uninsured drunk driver, you will want to review your automobile insurance policy because South Dakota law requires that automobile insurance policies in South Dakota have “uninsured motorist coverage.”
Generally speaking, uninsured motorist coverage covers you when the other driver is at fault. This type of coverage only applies when you are injured and the driver of the at-fault vehicle does not have insurance. It does not provide coverage for damage to your property. Under South Dakota law the minimum amount of uninsured motorist coverage is $25,000. Of course, you can increase the limits of uninsured motorist coverage.
You cannot control whether drunk drivers have liability coverage, even though the law requires that they do. You can, though, provide some protection for yourself and your family with uninsured motorist coverage. And if you find yourself in the unfortunate situation of having to make an uninsured motorist claim, or if you simply have questions, our office will talk with you, free of charge, to see if we can assist you.